Moments With God – Sept. 9th

The School of Pain

Read Psalm 119:65-80

In his book “The Problem of Pain” C.S. Lewis observes that “God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks in our conscience, but shouts in our pains: it is His megaphone to rouse a deaf world.” Suffering often helps us to redirect our focus. It shifts our thinking from immediate circumstances so that we can listen to God concerning His work in our lives. Life as usual is replaced by a spiritual schoolroom.

In the Old Testament, we read how the psalmist maintained a teachable heart even during painful circumstances. he accepted them as orchestrated by God, and in submission he prayed, “In faithfulness you have afflicted me” (Psalm 119:75). Isaiah the prophet viewed suffering as a refining process: “See, I have refined you, though not as silver; I have tested you in the furnace of affliction” (Isaiah 48:10). And Job, despite his laments, learned about the sovereignty and greatness of God through his troubles (Job 40-42).

We are not alone in our experiece of pain. God himself took on human form and suffered greatly: “To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in his steps” (1 Peter 2:21). The One with nail-scarred hands is near. He will comfort us and teach us in our suffering.

MOMENTS FOR REFLECTION

  • In faithfulness you have afflicted me. (Psalm 119:75)
  • I have refined you, but not as silver is refined. Rather, I have refined you in the furnace of suffering. (Isaiah 48:10)
  • You asked, “Who is this that questions my wisdom with such ignorance?” It is I-and I was talking about things I knew nothing about, things far too wonderful for me. (Job 42:3)

MOMENTS FOR RENEWAL

Father, I confess that I don’t always see Your purpose in my trials. Help me to trust You, and help me become more and more like You.

 

Leave a comment