Daily Scripture Series – April 20th

God’s Word Helps Us Battle the Enemy

“I rise before dawn and cry for help; I have put my hope in your word.” (Psalm 119:147)

The chant began slowly, but grew in volume, tempo,and intensity until it filled the stadium. Fifty thousand men, part of a team united in purpose and vision, had gathered in Folsom Field in Boulder Colorado, for the biggest coaching even of the year. Reverend E.V. Hill, a pastor from Los Angeles, shared a strategy from the master playbook.

“Hit ’em. Hit ’em! Hit ’em!”

As he described the ultimate play in the battle against the enemy of our souls, the stadium was practically silent. Men leaned forward in their seats, eager to hear the secret to victory over Satan and his schemes.

Dr. Hill stepped closer to the microphone and paused, seeming to make eye contact with every man in the crowd. “Jesus said, ‘Devil, it is written.'”

“He went to the book of Deuteronomy and came out with Scripture. Every time the devil opened his mouth, Jesus threw Scripture in it. He said, ‘Devil, it is written, “Man shall notl I’ve by bread alone.” It is written, “Thou shalt not tempt the Lord thy God.”‘ He hit him over and over and over with the Scripture.”

“And guess what happened?” He asked the spellbound crowd. “The devil ran.”

The men erupted in cheers, pumped their fists, and raised their arms in celebration.

“You don’t have to take it. You don’t have to take the devil’s mess. You don’t have to take his stuff. Hit ’em with the Word. Take out your Bible and hit. That. Devil. With the Word.”

Buoyed by the truth of Scripture and the power of the Holy Spirit, the stadium echoed Dr. Hill’s words in a battle cry.

You can find find yourself getting own, you yourself can go to YouTube even now and find the video of the Promise Keepers conference of 1993 and it will encourage you to continue to fight the battle in this world against the devil by using the Word of God. Because the Word of God is all powerful.

The psalmist knew this. In one of the most beautiful tributes to the Word of God, Psalm 119, he wrote, “I rise before dawn and cry for help; I have put my hope in your word. My eyes stay open through the watches of the night, that I may meditate on your promises.” (Psalm 119:147-148)

As the psalmist did, i’ve often laid awake nights fretting and fearful.. My mind swirls with faithless thoughts and churns with real or imagined trouble. “What will I do if something happens to my husband? Will my children and grandchildren love God? Will the money we’ve saved carry us through retirement? Will I or someone I love die of some terrible disease?” And so on and so forth.

Then the voice of the enemy adds his running commentary. “How can you call yourself a Christian when you still struggle with____? Why do you keep praying for them? Nothing ever changes.”

Then God, through the Bible verses I’ve memorized, whispers truth to my troubled soul.

“Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you” (Hebrews 13:5).

“The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective” (James 5:16).

“And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.’ (Philippians 4:19).

My fears and Satan’s lies scuttle off into the shadows I shine the light of God’s Word. I cling to His promises like a hiker clutching a flashlight as he searches for the way out of an inky black cave.

“Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus” (Romans 8:1).

“The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and his ears are attentive to their cry” (Psalm 34:15).

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up” (Galatians 6:9).

Like Jesus in the desert, the psalmist in Israel, and E.V. Hill in Folsom Field, I raise the weapon of God’s Word in faith. Every time I do, God equips me to rest in peace and hope. Armed with Scripture to meet my every need, I find strength to walk in victory and rest in peace. You can do this as well.

Take Heart

Because God’s Word is true, we can find courage and hope to defeat all our fears.

From the Heart

Father, I pray with the psalmist, “Hear my voice in accordance with Your love; preserve my life. O Lord, according to Your laws” (Psalm 119:149). Thank You for giving me the powerful weapon of Your Word. Remind me every day, that I need not be the victim of Satan’s lies or my own fears. Help me walk in hope, knowing that the truth of Scripture will always prevail. In the strong name of Jesus I ask. Amen.

Leave a comment